The TMC is not on a strong wicket in Basirhat following the communal riots of 2017, which dented Ali's image and helped the BJP milk the situation in its favour.

Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) - Basirhat (AITC) Basirhat (Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in India.The constituency centres on Basirhat in West Bengal.All the seven assembly segments of No. ... TMC MP Kakoli Ghoshdastidar is … Nusrat Jahan, the most popular Bengali actress was recently elected as the MP for the Trinamool Congress from the Basirhat constituency. Actress-turned-politician Nusrat Jahan got married to businessman Nikhil Jain in the picturesque Turkish town of Bodrum.The wedding took place on June 19 which was also the day of the oath-taking ceremony for newly-elected members of Parliament. The sitting MP for Basirhat is Idris Ali from TMC, known to be a party strongman. Last Updated: 25th March, 2020 08:09 IST Trinamool MP Nusrat Jahan To Deploy MPLAD Fund To Buy Anti-Coronavirus Items For Basirhat Nusrat Jahan will use the Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADs) Funds for procurement of essential items to test and contain COVID-19. She joined active politics in 2019 and contested from Basirhat as a Trinamool Congress candidate.
Nusrat Jahan Ruhi (born 8 January 1990) is an Indian film actress who predominantly works in Bengali cinema. The TMC MP tied the knot with Kolkata-based businessman Nikhil Jain. The Trinamul MP later told the media, "After becoming an MP I visited Basirhat many times. 18 Basirhat (Lok Sabha constituency) are in North 24 Parganas district West Bengal: Basirhat MP Nusrat Jahan appeals for calm after 5 killed in BJP-TMC clashes - "Humanity comes first thus I request my friends from media to co-operate with us ... Basirhat is a sensitive zone ... but we will make sure the people there are safe and that they don't suffer," Nusrat Jahan said. Actress-turned-politician Nusrat won from the Basirhat parliamentary seat on a TMC ticket in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha election.

According to the list released by TMC, following are the names of candidates contesting from the respective constituencies in West Bengal: If you do a comparison, the previous MP perhaps was not seen here so much. In 2009, TMC's Haji Nurul Islam won against three-time MP of CPI(M) Ajay Chakraborty by 60 thousand votes. Actress and TMC MP Nusrat Jahan was discharged from hospital on Monday evening, a day after she was admitted with complains of respiratory trouble. News Desk | November 19, 2019 12:24 AM IST. Though this is Jahan’s first brush with politics, her constituency has been a TMC stronghold for the past few years. With rising tensions between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in various parts of West Bengal, Basirhat MP Nusrat Jahan has appealed for peace and calm. TMC MP Nusrat Jahan defends her TikTok dances as an ‘entertainer’, labels who question her silence over protests for food in her constituency as trolls The people of a village in Nusrat's constituency, Basirhat, had staged a protest for the paucity of food during the nationwide lockdown