The second is homes which is the special directory on the account which users are allowed to access using Samba. In the “Advanced Sharing” window that opens, enable the “Share this folder” option, and … If you cannot open/map network shared folders on your NAS, Samba Linux server, computers with old Windows versions (Windows 7/XP/Server 2003) from Windows 10, most likely the problem is that legacy and insecure versions of the SMB protocol are disabled in the latest Windows 10 builds (SMB protocol is used in Windows to access shared network folders and files). Or you could enable NFS or better yet, as we will discuss here, use SAMBA and share entire folders, allowing you to simply save to a shared folder making the file / folder visible from other PC's on your network. Open File Explorer and select This PC. I have a SAMBA network share on a WD NAS drive, with login credentials, named "bobloblaw". In my case, it is centos. 3 Regular Microsoft support for Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 has ended. I am using the hostname of the Samba server. 2 Windows Server, versions 1809, 1903, and 1909. However now it is not working for the Windows 10 PC (but still ok on my Windows 7 PC), returning:----- To access the Samba share from Windows Explorer, start typing the IP address to our share in the search area. A computer using Windows 8. Move to PC directory in explorer, Select "Map Network drive". In the resulting screen (Figure B), click Choose a custom network location (the only option) and then click Next… It is possible to purchase additional support for security updates only through the Extended Security Update (ESU) program.We strongly recommend migrating off of these operating systems. If mapping network drive, windows 10 will connect to samba automatically when user login. Shared files can be accessible for reading and writing to others.