In 1981, with the most ever, six different teams claimed a national title. Burrow will be the first Heisman-winning quarterback to play for the national championship since Marcus Mariota in 2014 but one of 10 to do so during the BCS and College Football Playoff eras. There are many polls and organizations that select college football's national championship team each year. It would be difficult to leave off the guy who led the Tigers to their first National Championship victory. Who were the stars? LSU went on to win the national championship at 15-0 with one of the best passing attacks in the game's history, and Burrow was the first pick of the 2020 NFL Draft in April. LSU football won National Championships in 1958 with Warren Rabb, 2003 with Matt Mauck, and 2007 with Matt Flynn. Jordan was one of the first major dual-threat quarterbacks … LSU quarterback … No LSU quarterback has ever had a bigger impact in the first game of their career than Matt Mauck. Cam Newton is the only national championship-winning quarterback on this list to be drafted No. Rutledge had more passing yards while Todd surpassed him in yards rushing. But a few weeks later in the national championship game, Gators coach and former Heisman winner Steve Spurrier had his quarterback in the … Inside was the first junior to win the award, beating out his teammate, Glenn Davis, who was the runner up.

Since Newton, Auburn has had 10 different quarterbacks start at least one game.

McCarron, who went 219/328 for 2,634 yards for 16 TDs and 5 interceptions. Felix ‘Doc’ Blanchard, FB, Army, 1945 Mr. Joe Namath and Steve Sloan also split time together in 1964. RollTide1987 Alabama's National Championship Quarterbacks quote: Gary Rutledge was the starting QB in 1973, not Richard Todd. The last starting quarterback from the University of Alabama who does not have a national championship was Nick Saban’s first starter way back in 2007 and 2006. Due to differing opinions, the final NCAA champion is sometimes not unanimously agreed upon. Bertelli was the first Fighting Irish player to win a Heisman in 1943 and the quarterback of the first of four national championship squads coached by the legendary Frank Leahy. Burrow, LSU cap Heisman season, beat Clemson 42-25 for title.

In 2011, Alabama’s quarterback was A.J. Tagovailoa has the experience, and Fromm … The Buckeyes and Tigers will be right back in the mix for a national championship because of it. MORE: SN's Preseason Top 25 for 2020 That does not mean another quarterback can't rise to the top. Trent Richardson, Eddie Lacy and Jalston Fowler were the three main running backs who helped lead Alabama to a comeback victory over LSU to win the 2011 National Championship. Just two seasons after Newton lit the college football world on fire, Auburn went 3-9 and then went to the BCS National Championship game the very next season. Clemson defeated No.